Machu Picchu & the Galápagos
with Overseas Adventure Travel   2006

Tuesday, Feb. 28
Fly to Lima, Peru
Accommodations: Hotel Monte Real, Miraflores, Lima (3 nights)

Wednesday, March 1
Orientation with Peruvian tour leader Juan Lazo. Tour Lima, including Parque Kennedy, Plaza Mayor, Cathedral, City Hall, Government Palace, Monasterio de San Francisco, and Museum of Anthropology, Archeology and History.

Thursday, March 2
Tour Lima, including Central Market, Chinatown, Museo Rafael Larco Herrera (on own).

Friday, March 3
Fly to Cusco. Tour Cusco, including Plaza de Armas, Iglesia de la Merced, Street of Big Stones, and workshop of maker of musical instruments.
Accommodations: José Antonio, Cusco, Peru (2 nights)

Saturday, March 4
Tour Qoricancha Sun Temple (now Iglesia Santo Domingo) and Inca ruins at Sacsayhuaman; traditional healing ceremony; free time in Cusco.

Sunday, March 5
Bus to Ollantaytambo, train through Sacred Valley to Machu Picchu; afternoon tour of Machu Picchu.
Accommodations: Machu Picchu Inn, Aguas Calientes, Peru (1 night)

Monday, March 6
Machu Picchu hike; train to Ollantaytambo, bus to Cusco with stops in Urubamba Valley.
Accommodations: José Antonio, Cusco, Peru (2 nights)

Tuesday, March 7
Visit llama farm, then continue on to Pisac. Tour Pisac ruins, town market. Bus back to Cusco for home-hosted lunch, then visit to orphanage supported by OAT.

Wednesday, March 8
Fly to Lima; free day in Lima.
Accommodations: Hotel Monte Real, Miraflores, Lima (1 night)

Thursday, March 9
Fly to Quito, Ecuador. Orientation with Ecuadorian tour leader Hanzel Martinetti about Galápagos.
Accommodations: Hotel Quito, Quito, Ecuador (1 night)

Friday, March 10
Fly from Quito to the Galápagos; board catamaran for Galapagos exploration. Afternoon at Dragon's Hill on Santa Cruz.
Accommodations: Galápagos catamaran Archipell I (3 nights)

Saturday, March 11
Bartolome Island and Sullivan Bay (Santiago).

Sunday, March 12
James Bay (Santiago) and Rabida.

Monday, March 13
Disembark in Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz. Bus to Charles Darwin Station for giant tortoises. Free time in Puerto Ayora, then home-hosted lunch and bus tour of highlands.
Accommodations: Royal Palm Hotel, Santa Cruz Island, Galapagos (3 nights)

Tuesday, March 14
Morning trip to Trapiche Ranch to learn how sugar cane is processed into liquor. Afternoon trip to a ranch to see giant tortoises in wild.

Wednesday, March 15
Excursion boat to Seymour Island and Mosquera Island's beach.

Thursday, March 16
Walk through lava tube, then boat across to Baltra to catch flight to Quito.
Accommodations: Hotel Quito (2 nights)

Friday, March 17
Bus tour with local guide Santiago. Stopped at school to hear disabled children's orchestra supported by OAT, then continued north of Quito to Inti Nan Museum for true equator line and La Mitad del Mundo for equator monument. Back to Quito for tour of old city, including La Basilica, Plaza de la Independencia and La Compania de Jesus.

Saturday, March 18
Depart Quito for U.S.