Cinque Terre  Vernazza

Vernazza from hiking trail

CINQUE TERRE: Five small fishing villages hug Italy's western shoreline: (from north to south) Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza (shown here), Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore. Before a railroad line was blasted through the crags overlooking the sea, these towns could only be reached by boat or precarious dirt roads.
[Press Stop to pause slide show; press Refresh to resume]